Monday, June 18, 2007

Secret Earmarks

One of the things that I HAVE to criticize the Democratic majority on is their contiuation of the GOP's policy of secret earmarks.

It's our money, we have a right to know and what you are doing is no better than what the crooks you defeated did last year.

CNN called every Congressman's office looking for their list of earmarks. Most did not return their calls, but 31 members of Congress did provide the information to CNN. The list runs the gambit of both conservative Republicans and liberal Democrats. Here's the list of our true heroes;

Robert Andrews (D-New Jersey)
Nancy Boyda (D-Kansas)
Kevin Brady (R-Texas)
John Campbell (R-California)
Kathy Castor (D-Florida)
Jim Cooper (D-Tennessee)
John Culberson (R-Texas)
Susan Davis (D-California)
Charlie Dent (R-Pennsylvania)
Rahm Emaneul (D-Illinois)
Tom Feeney (R-Florida)
Kirsten Gillibrand (D-New York)
Louie Gohmert (R-Texas)
Gene Green (D-Texas)
Alcee Hastings (D-Florida)
Wally Herger (R-California)
Bob Inglis (R-South Carolina)
Kevin McCarthy (R-California)
Michael McCaul (R-Texas)
Thaddeus McCotter (R-Michigan)
Dennis Moore (D-Kansas)
Ron Paul (R-Texas)
Ted Poe (R-Texas)
Mike Pence (R-Indiana)
Tom Price (R-Georgia)
Adam Putnam (R-Florida)
Paul Ryan (R-Wisconsin)
Christopher Shays (R-Connecticut)
Mark Sounder (R-Indiana)
Mac Thornberry (R-Texas)

Minority Leader Boehner, Melissa Bean (D-Illinois), Jeff Flake (R-Arizona), Nathan Deal (R-Georgia), John Shadegg (R-Arizona), Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas), and Lee Terry (R-Nebraska) all have no requested earmarks.

It is a shame that the Democrats refuse to take a proactive leadership role on this issue. If they wish to keep their majority, they need to stop acting like the minority did when they were the majority.

No comments: