Friday, November 16, 2007

Houses Passes Electronic Surveillance Bill

The bill wasn't what Bush wanted. It strengthens court oversight over surveillance of suspected terrorists, but does not include immunity to telecommunications corporations who assisted in eavesdropping American citizens.

So if you helped the government committ a crime, you're not getting away with it.

The vote was 227-189

Five Republicans voted in favor;
John Duncan (R-Tennessee)
Jeff Flake (R-Arizona)
Wayne Gilcrest (R-Maryland)
Bob Inglis (R-South Carolina)
Wayne Jones (R-North Carolina

Five Democrats voted against;
John Barrow (D-Georgia)
Mike Capuano (D-Massachusetts)
Nick Lampson (D-Texas)
Mike Michaud (D-Maine)
Jose Serrano (D-New York)

Capuano, Michaud and Serrano oppose any bill authorizing government surveillance. Other opponents, such as Dennis Kucinich (D-Ohio) and Ron Paul (R-Texas) were not present.

Interestingly enough, Democrats picked up the votes of some of their usual dissenters on national security, like Dan Boren (D-Oklahoma), Jim Marshall (D-Georgia) and Gene Taylor (D-Mississippi)

No comments: